Independence Day pops

So I decided, at the last minute, to make some cake pops for the fourth of July. It really wasn’t great timing as I had my anatomy midterm on yesterday (and class from 2:30 – 10:00pm) but when I get an idea or inkling, I usually can’t rest until I see it through. Although, I do have a confession to make: a started with a packaged cake box!

Since I didn’t have a lot of time and we happened to have a yellow cake mix in the pantry, I decided to just run with it. I grabbed a lemon from the tree outside, grated some zest into the mix, substituted lemon juice for some of the water and voila! Instant lemon cake from a box that definitely tested homemade! Luckily, we had some cream cheese and butter in the fridge (I think we always have butter in the fridge) so I added some lemon and sugar to that, and using a hand mixer, blended it all together. This is what I used to bind the cake together for the cake pops. By the way, if you want a little refresher, here’s how I make cake pops.

I let the pops sit in the freezer overnight to harden and decorated them last night. I wanted a red, white and blue theme (naturally!) but I really wanted to find blue stars. Unfortunately, I went to four stores and couldn’t find any so I just ran with the different things I had in the pantry. I used chocolate and coconut for the white, red dyed white chocolate for the red and sugar crystals for the blue. I hope they look like mini firework balls!

We took the cake pops to a family friends’ house and the kids and I devoured them after spending the whole afternoon swimming in the pool. 🙂 Happy fourth, everyone! And as I have been saying all day, I hope we spent the day celebrating and reflecting on when Will Smith saved the world from the alien invasion! Happy Independence Day!

Leave a Reply

