my second attempt at macarons

If at first you don’t succeed…

I definitely did not want to be defeated after my first attempt at macarons, so I thought I would try again. This time, I wanted to make what I call, pink velvet macarons. Using the same recipe as before, I added some red coloring (which turned out pink after mixing in the egg whites) and made a semisweet chocolate ganache.

Again, they weren’t perfect – my ganache had a little too much cream and was very runny (which could easily be remedied by adding more chocolate) and although the feet were there, they didn’t look as good as my first lemon batch. On the upside, my piping skills definitely improved as the surface of the shells were much smoother.

Yay, I’m glad I tried again. I learned something new each time I tried and it really proves that practice may not make things perfect, but it’s the only way you can get better at something.

Leave a Reply

