the substitute mars bar slice

Last week, I was craving Mars Bar Slice for some reason. I think it was because I was Sydney homesick and I just wanted to have a little taste of, well, life there. After a few mishaps, I was finally able to make them and with good timing too as the kulets came over during the weekend and we had an impromptu Beach Sunday, which was definitely another taste of Sydney life for me. I even swam in the Pacific Ocean.

Sorry, I got a little distracted there. Back to the treats! I decided to post up how to make this chocolate-y goodness for my friend, Ace. Hopefully he can whip up a batch for all those crazy cats that I miss. And why wouldn’t he be able to? It’s super easy.

You only need four ingredients:

  • 4-5 cups rice crispies cereal
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 150-200g dark chocolate (I had semi-sweet in the pantry, which works too)
  • 4-5 mars bars (since mars bars are hard to come by stateside, I substituted it with milky way bars but there’s nothing like the real thing!)

First, you cut up the chocolate bars and butter into smaller pieces and put it in a saucepan over low heat. I’ll be honest: only about 4.5 chocolate bars ended up in my saucepan because some of it found it’s way into my mouth. LOL. Let that melt while mixing until it becoming ooey gooey ooey! Yes, that’s my technical description.

Put your rice crispies into a bowl and pour the chocolate and butter melted goodness on top. Mix this carefully because although you want to coat all of the rice crispies with chocolate, you also don’t want to crush them. I started with 4 cups of the cereal but since I still had a lot of chocolate, I added an extra cup. Please also note that I’m using my new favorite pink bowl. πŸ™‚

Next, you place the mixture into a tray. I lined mine with wax paper so it’s easy to pull out once it’s set. Smooth the mixture until it’s evenly distributed and flat on top. Place this baby in the fridge for about an hour and watch your favorite TV show. After the show’s over, melt some chocolate (just enough to cover the top of the tray) and pour it over the cereal. This layer of chocolate can be as thick as you want but in this case, I left it pretty thin because let’s face it: this tray has a lot of chocolate already. But I’ll leave that decision up to you!

Lastly, let that sit in the fridge for a couple of hours. When you’re ready (if you can wait that long!), pull out the wax paper and cut it into small square pieces. Or large rectangular pieces. Or medium sized triangular pieces. πŸ™‚ Regardless of how you present it, I guarantee it will be delicious and kids aged 2-99 will love you. At least, until the plate is empty. Then you may have to whip up something else. Hehe!

Happy eating!

3 thoughts on “the substitute mars bar slice

  1. Awwwww, i get a special mention. Hooray!! Thanks A LOT, Japs! The recipe does look very easy and simple! And the photos made my mouth water btw (which was awkward as I’m at work).

    I’ll definitely give this a shot and let you know how successful my attempt will be!

Leave a Reply

