the school spirit cupcakes

I was so proud of my little cousin because her 6th grade varsity volleyball team made it to the playoffs a couple of weeks back. Congratulations, St. Veronica’s! They were so happy and excited, it wasn’t hard to smile about it. Or pose about it, for that matter!

Because the girls are so cute, I was inspired to make some school spirit cupcakes to celebrate the end of their season. I made a plain vanilla cupcake and initially, I wanted to dye the whole cupcake green. But instead, my mom had the great suggestion to do a green swirl instead. So, right before putting the batter in the cupcake tins, I put in a few drops of the green dye and swirled it around. Just a little bit. I also cut out some black SV’s to decorate it after.

They turned out perfectly! Once the cupcakes were cooled, I iced it with a salted caramel buttercream, some green sugar crystals and the fondant SV’s.

Leave a Reply

